Women of Distinction

2017 Event Details

This year we are proud to honor Betsy Merto Engle, Becky Zaverl & Michelle Katz Bartlett as our Women of Distinction.

When: May 4th at 6:00pm, Doors open at 5:15pm
Where: Westmark Gold Room
Tickets: $100, Table of 10 = $1,000
Corporate Table = $1,500


  • Life Stories of 3 Inspiring Women: Betsy Merto Engle, Becky Zaverl & Michelle Katz Bartlett
  • Plated Dinner
  • Silent Auction

Contact: Suellen Nelles at 907-456-4782 with questions

About the Women of Distinction Awards

Women have always been strong contributors to the state of Alaska and to the city of Fairbanks. While many women have worked in the spotlight to effect change and improve communities, many have contributed behind the scenes. The Farthest North Girl Scout Council designed an award two decades ago that honors women who have made highly visible as well as silent contributions to the Fairbanks community. Each May, the Girl Scout council recognizes three women, at a banquet in their honor, who make our city a better place to live and who are positive role models for young girls.

The Women of Distinction Event is an annual fundraiser presented in partnership with BP. The community of Fairbanks recognizes and awards three extraordinary women, while supporting a positive program for Alaska’s girls. Funds from previous events have helped hundreds of girls to enjoy the fun of Girl Scouts in troops and at camp, from all around the state.

Previous Honorees

Martha Harrell, Brenda Holden, Effie Kokrine, and Ann Secrest

Rev. Shellie Brown, Poldine Carlo, Grace Berg Schaible, and Sue Wilken

Vallie Byrdsong, Deborah Honea, Ruth Lister, and Rev. Mable Rasmussen

Virgie M. King, Christine Smith, Coleen Turner, and June Ulz

Annie Bartley, Erma Belz, Ruth Burnett, and June Rogers

Nancy White Carlstrom, Edna Wilder Cryan, Emily Kemak, and Susan Redding

Gloria Fernandez, Nancy Hanson, Dorothy Jones, and Ginger Stock-McKenzie

Jyotsna “Jo” Heckman, Kyong Hollen, Susan Rainey, and Chelsea Walker

Barbara Hall, M. Chris Hayes, Althea St. Martin, and Jo Ryman Scott

Rosalind Kan, Patty Kastelic, Theresa Reed, and Marilyn Romano

Samantha Kirstein, Henrine Gray, Ann Shortt, and Niesje Steinkruger

Carol Brice, Lorena Hegdal, Annie Keep-Barnes, and Cheryl Kilgore

Pat Cook, Lottie Fleeks, Mary Ann Nickles, and Bonnie Roberts

Karen Parr, Wendy Redman, Jennifer Schmidt, and Barbara Schuhmann

Mary Binkley, Shirley Lee, Peggy Pollen, and Jeri Wigdahl

Bernice Joseph, Shelby Nelson, and Karen Perdue

Sue Hull, Patty Mongold, and Connie Parks-Karl

Mary Jane Fate, Jane Kauvar, and Sue White

Sherry Modrow, Ana Richards, and Lorna Shaw

Bonnie Johnson, Jennifer Jolis, Corlis Tayor

Honoring our Donors

Major Sponsor

20th Anniversary Tables
Alaska Airlines
Alaska Communication
Fairbanks Daily News-Miner
Lottie Fleeks
Mt. McKinley Bank
Ellen Whitcher Estate

Corporate Tables
Bettisworth North
Gayle Garrigues

Individual Tables
Hospital Foundation
Fairbanks Public Health Center
Tourism Industry

Special Contributors
Advance Printing
Alaska Children’s Trust
Barbara Matthews
Carol Brice
Chelsea Walker
Chris Tanner
Claudia & Jeff Pierson
Doyon, LMT
First Lady Donna Walker
Gayle Garrigues
Jill Marshall/ Marshall Arts
John Lubben
John Ringstad
Karen Lundquist
KATN Channel 2
Kelly Thrun
KTVF Channel 11
Margaret Soden
Marilyn Romano
Mary Greene
Nancy Hanson
Niesje Steinkruger
SL Gordon
Sue Rainey
Sue Wilken
Tamera Lienhart
Girl Scout Troop 85
Girl Scout Troop 110
Girl Scout Troop 129
Girl Scout Troop 39