header graphic

To Join
To Volunteer
GS in Rural AK
To Shop
Council Patch
Donate Now
Contact Us

Women of Distinction Awards

Women of Distinction logo

BP Logo

The Women of Distinction Awards

2015 Women of Distinction Recipients

Congratulations to our 2015 Women of Distinction recipients!

2015 WOD Recipients

From left to right: Lorna Shaw, Ana Richards and Sherry Modrow

About the Women of Distinction Awards

Women have always been strong contributors to the state of Alaska and to the city of Fairbanks. While many women have worked in the spotlight to effect change and improve communities, many have contributed behind the scenes. The Farthest North Girl Scout Council designed an award two decades ago that honors women who have made highly visible as well as silent contributions to the Fairbanks community. Each May, the Girl Scout council recognizes three women, at a banquet in their honor, who make our city a better place to live and who are positive role models for young girls.

The Women of Distinction Event is an annual fundraiser presented in partnership with BP. May 7th, 2015 will mark the 19th annual opportunity for the community of Fairbanks to recognize and award three more extraordinary women, while supporting a positive program for Alaska’s girls. Funds from previous events have helped hundreds of girls to enjoy the fun of Girl Scout in troops and at camp, from all around the state.

To purchase tickets, call the Girl Scout office at 456-4782.
Tickets are $90 each or $900 for a table of 10.

Corporate sponsorships are also possible as follows:

  • Gold Sponsorship for $1,250 includes 10 tickets
  • Silver Sponsorship for $750 indludes 5 tickets
  • Bronze Sponsorship for $500 includes 3 tickets
  • Individual Sponsorship for $150 includes 1 ticket
    *Note: all sponsorships are acknowledged in the event program and in the thank-you ad

2014 Women of Distinction Awards Ceremony Slideshow

Women of Distinction Slideshow

Previous Honorees

Martha Harrell, Brenda Holden, Effie Kokrine, and Ann Secrest                                           

Rev. Shellie Brown, Poldine Carlo, Grace Berg Schaible, and Sue Wilken

Vallie Byrdsong, Deborah Honea, Ruth Lister, and Rev. Mable Rasmussen

Virgie M. King, Christine Smith, Coleen Turner, and June Ulz

Annie Bartley, Erma Belz, Ruth Burnett, and June Rogers

Nancy White Carlstrom, Edna Wilder Cryan, Emily Kemak, and Susan Redding

Gloria Fernandez, Nancy Hanson, Dorothy Jones, and Ginger Stock-McKenzie

Jyotsna “Jo” Heckman, Kyong Hollen, Susan Rainey, and Chelsea Walker

Barbara Hall, M. Chris Hayes, Althea St. Martin, and Jo Ryman Scott

Rosalind Kan, Patty Kastelic, Theresa Reed, and Marilyn Romano

Samantha Kirstein, Henrine Gray, Ann Shortt, and Niesje Steinkruger

Carol Brice, Lorena Hegdal, Annie Keep-Barnes, and Cheryl Kilgore

Pat Cook, Lottie Fleeks, Mary Ann Nickles, and Bonnie Roberts

Karen Parr, Wendy Redman, Jennifer Schmidt, and Barbara Schuhmann

Mary Binkley, Shirley Lee, Peggy Pollen, and Jeri Wigdahl

Bernice Joseph, Shelby Nelson, and Karen Perdue

Sue Hull, Patty Mongold, and Connie Parks-Karl

Mary Jane Fate, Jane Kauvar, and Sue White

Sherry Modrow, Ana Richards, and Lorna Shaw

Honoring our Donors
Women of Distinction Patrons:

BP LogoMajor Sponsor


Gold Patron
Alaska Airlines
Jeff & Sue Cook
Doyon, Ltd.
Fairbanks Daily News-Miner
Gayle Garrigues
Kinross/ Ft. Knox
Mt. McKinley Bank
Northrim Bank
Grace Berg Schaible
Wells Fargo Bank
Ellen Whitcher

Silver Patron
Lottie Fleeks

Bronze Patron
Yukon Title Co.

Chelsea and Gary Walker

Special Contributors
Advance Printing
Chris Anderson
Sheila Doody Bishop
Dermott Cole
Rosalie L'Ecuyer
Gayle Garrigues
Gretchen Gordon
Mary Greene
Nancy Hanson
KATN, Channel 2
KTVF, Channel 11
Tamera Lienhart
Jim Lund
Karen Lundquist
Angela Major
Jill Marshall/ Marshall Arts
Barbara Matthews
Senator Lisa Murkowski
Claudia & Jeff Pierson
Peggy Pollen
John Ringstad
Marilyn Romano
Grace Berg Schaible
Margaret Soden
Neisje Steinkruger
Chris Tanner
Wing Tham
Troop 39
Troop 149
Troop 165
Troop 201
Mary Lou Weese
Sandra Wilson
Stephanie Woodard

footer graphic
Girl Scouts Logo

Farthest North Girl Scout Council, Inc. • T: 907.456.4782 • F: 907.452.2320 • E: info@fairbanksgirlscouts.org
Toll Free: (800) 478.4782 (within Alaska only)

©2005-2010 Duffy Infodesign. All rights reserved.
United Way Logo